BLUE BACKED A/C WINGS

BEAST

Picked these up from an antique mall today. The dealer told me the name of the vet whose estate he bought them from. When I looked up the vet's obit, it stated that he had served as a tailgunner during the war. I found his name on another website and it said that he served overseas from 1944-1945.

The wings are on a blue background and they have been "enhanced" to puff out from the uniform. If you look on the back, you will notice a piece of material has been glued on to make them stand out.

I picked up some of the vet's other items, such as his ribbons and SSI. Unfortunely, the dealer also had his collar disks, but wanted $15 a piece for the US and the USAAF disks. Can't justify $30 for a pair of EM disks. Maybe I can talk him down later.

post-203-1208040129.jpg

post-203-1208040136.jpg

Beast,

I am no expert on WW2 wings, but they kind of strike me as looking British made. Any thoughts from the WW2 experts?

Thanks!

Chris

If they were on brown wool felt I would peg them as Aussie made. As they are they definately have that Commonwealth feel.

Gary

These are brit made.I have a set with bullion on blue and also a set like those posted.The Blue wool is a spin on the blue wool used on the back of the Sterling wings worn to designate combat crew.One 8th AF man said the men who had the blue behind the wings were the oned who were among the first to fly missions early in the war.The blue backer was a type of status symbol for the early men.

The Brit embroidered wings I have came from an Army nurse who collected them in England,

RON

BOB K. RKSS

The cloth blue back Wings were made in England during WWII (don't believe thay were officially authorized), but were worn by flyers on the chest of Leather flying jackets (A-2; etc.).

BOB K. RKSS