The Proud Kraut Patch Collection

Proud Kraut

Proud Kraut

After joining the forum some months ago I would like to post my patch collection today.

Statistics:

My collection contains about 2100 colored patches and 200 separate tabs. Most of them Army, some Army Air Force and a few USMC and Navy ones.

The bulk of the patches is period. I have a couple of repros in my collection, about 70 - 80 pieces.

Why? I bought them when I was an unexperienced beginner (there was a time without the internet long long time ago...) and truely spent too much money for them. I'm keeping them as placeholders until I find a real one for a reasonable price.

History:

I started collecting Third Reich militaria at the age of 16. I spent a lot of money for bad fakes and felt not well with that stuff I had for several reasons. I quit. At the same time a neighbor broke off his U.S.Army patch collection. Once I saw them I was infected. I bought what I could and tried to enlarge my collection whenever possible. I have had a brake for a while (family, children, career, building a house, you know what I mean) but never gave up definitely.

If you collect U.S. Army militaria in Germany you are part of a very small group. No problem! But what I missed most was the chance to talk to like-minded collectors or those who wear or have worn these patches. I found this at the forum now and I really enjoy it every day.

Display:

I'm using Styrofoam plates 100 x 50 x 2 cm. I cover them with light grey cloth. I experimented with darker colors, even "Woodland" camouflage cloth (silly to display a WW II patch on Woodland!) but then I felt that a light and neutral color would highlight the patches best. I pinned the patches on these plates. The patches weren't damaged and I'm able to "redeploy" easily when I get something new.

Advice for the beginner:

1. Knowledge saves money. Most of the kwnowledge you need is available here, use it and ask!