Close air support for Task Force Weaver

Gregory

Hello,

During Normandy campaign Task Force Weaver was a separated part of the 90th ID. As the monograph of the 90th ID, "War From the Ground Up" book, informs a squadron of the P-47s was detached for close air support in aid of TF Weaver. Does anybody know which squadron was it? Have you ever seen any memoirs of the P-47 pilots concerning the period of Falaise Pocket/Falaise Gap closing and the USAAF operations to support TF Weaver and 90th ID?

Best regards

Greg

A quickie google search yielded mention of two groups that were involved; the 370th FG (P-38s) and 405th FG (P-47), but I think it likely that there were probably other groups involved as well. Given a IX AF OOB for the time period and some group histories or war diaries, it may be possible to come up with a likely candidate or candidates that would have been involved in a specific engagement.

I have little knowledge of ground operations, but am familiar with the basics of the whole Falaise Gap deal. However, I am familiar with TF Weaver only in passing and know nothing of its involvement in this action. If you can supply more info as to dates and times, I will try and see what I can come up with.

Would it be possible to get an exact quote(s) from the book that mentions the P-47s?

Fade to Black...

Hello, thanks a lot for possible consultation.

"War From the Ground Up", page 175

Task Force Weaver

Air Support: Squadron of P-47s

Command of Lt. Col. Randolph

Reconnaissance: 90th Recon Troop

Light Tank Co.: 712th Tank Battalion

Task Force Forward Command Group

Advance Guard – Command of Maj. Hamilton

Company of Infantry on 712th Medium Tanks

Det. of Co. A, 315th Engineer Battalion

Remainder of 1st Bn, 357th Inf.

Lt. Col. Reimers

343rd FA Bn

Battery A, 537th AAA Bn

Maneuver Force – Command of Col. Barth

Remainder 357th Inf. Regt

Remainder 712th Tank Bn

Remainder Co. A, 315th Eng. Bn

Co. A, 315th Medical Bn

345th FA Bn