Patched OIF/OEF Covers

RedLegGI

Alright guys looking for some specific info on these, as I've come across some recently that I don't know the reason behind it. Most covers you see have dual patches on the left and right side of the helmet, but I've encountered two 4th ID helmets recently that only have one patch on the left side. Seeing as its on the left side and not the 'combat' side, I am wondering if the 'combat' side would have to be earned, just like a combat patch. Also does anyone happen to know if this is a directive from brigade? I saw this on an Kpot with a DCU cover and then on a ACH with a ACU cover so its really odd. From looking at the helmets, they didn't appear to have any ghost patches.

I'm no expert on patched covers but I have some that are patched in the rear, front, one side, and both sides.

The 4th ID ones I have were patched on the left on woodland covers and they were never used in combat. The second ID ones were patched on both sides prior to going to combat. I have some others that look like iron on patches but were done in the front and rear.

I'm no expert on patched covers but I have some that are patched in the rear, front, one side, and both sides.

The 4th ID ones I have were patched on the left on woodland covers and they were never used in combat. The second ID ones were patched on both sides prior to going to combat. I have some others that look like iron on patches but were done in the front and rear.

The one I have in my collection is a 101st and its double-patched and they're both sewn on. I've heard that that these were also hurriedly applied with a hot-glue gun in some circumstances. I found it weird that the both from 4th ID were only on the left side, and it sounds like one of yours is the same way.