What Do You Think about this 1/2" Wide Ribbon Set?

CNY Militaria

CNY Militaria

I recently got this with some other early Navy 1/2" wide ribbon bars from WWI to WWII, that appeared to go together, mostly duplicates of these ribbons. These three appeared to be of similar construction and style. The bottom two have the fasteners shown to the right.

Is it possible this could be to one man? There are a lot of campaign stars going on here!

Justin

DSCN2200.jpg

DSCN2201.jpg

Well, I'm no expert, Justin, but it looks like a collection to me. If it belonged to one individual, he must have made a significant contribution to the war effort.

I recently bought a CBI tunic that came with a set of ribbons. One appears to be the Africa Star. I don't know how often this British medal was awarded to US personnel. It also has an interesting device that I have no clue about. The Africa Star is on top (also significant?)

post-105974-0-75283800-1356279012.jpg

Looks fine to me...one of the vets I researched had two ETO campaigns and then transferred to the PTO...where he earned stars for EIGHT campaigns! Thoroughly possible!

What is the A on the ADM ribbon?

From the navy.history.mil website:

Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard personnel who served on the following vessels operating in actual or potential belligerent contact with the Axis forces in the Atlantic Ocean between the date set below the ship in the table below are authorized to wear upon the American Defense Service Medal service ribbon, a bronze letter "A" in lieu of the bronze star. Such letter shall be one-fourth inch in height and shall be worn centered on the ribbon. When the "A" is worn, no star shall be worn upon the ribbon (Executive Order No. 8808 of 28 June 1941; N.D.G.O. No. 172 of 20 April 1942).

http://www.history.navy.mil/medals/atlantic.htm