1930's AMERICAN LEGION TOY TRAIN

BEAST

I originally put this post under the modelling section, but am beginning to think that it belongs here.

During the 1930s, my Mom and my Grandmother belonged to the American Legion Auxillery. During this time, Mom decorated this handmade train car. The detail is hard to see on my photos but there is an American Legion Symbol by the "ONTO BERLIN", a 37th Division marking and a cutout reading "40 Hommes ET 8 Chevaux". "WHEN DO WE EAT? and "ETAT DE NORD" are also hand lettered. It looks like roofing nails were used on the front and rear bumpers. There are only two wheels and no decorations on the other side. As anyone else seen other examples of these or other vet organization toys?

post-203-1202443619.jpg

post-203-1202443611.jpg

BEAST,

I am fairly new to the field of collecting veterans related items. I can honestly say I've never seen anything like this. Is your mom still available to ask the reason behind its creation?

Kevin

BEAST,

I am fairly new to the field of collecting veterans related items. I can honestly say I've never seen anything like this. Is your mom still available to ask the reason behind its creation?

Kevin

Hi Kevin,

No unfortunetly she passed away a few years ago. When I first found it in our attic, I asked her about it and IIRC she told me that it was done to help raise funds for the American Legion. I assume that she meant that they decorated them and sold them for the local post.

Does anyone recognize the style of train car? I believe that it is supposed to be a European style, but really don't have a clue!

http://www.fortyandeight.org/background.htm

La Societe des Quarante Hommes at Huit Chevaux is an independent fraternal organization of U. S. veterans, more commonly known as the Forty & Eight.