SEAL Team 1, Circa 1971, Rifleman impression

RT-VIPER

Hey all, I just thought I'd share some of newset pics. I have recently begun to branch off from collecting and reenacting MACV-SOG items to start with SEAL's and UDT's in Vietnam. This has always been an interest of mine and until recently I have been unable to afford many of the items for this particular impression. This is my first attempt at a typical rifleman attached in a SEAL team. Please, feel free to give me any pointers you may have. Thanks in advance! -Tanner

dsc07051ed01.jpg

vintageproductions

I'm thinking someone is going to be mad when they see you in their koi pond....

Outstanding job, right down to the blue jeans.

Two things that smack of the FNG look, the para cord around the front A~frame and the mags taped end to end.

The paracord would melt from the heat generated from sustained fire which is usually the only kind those guys had. You could put your sling swivel back on, tape it down to soundproof it and attach the paracord there. I opted for the side mounted sling swivel which replaced the regular swivel that had to be removed when the grenade launcher was attached.

In my experience, 30 rd mags taped end~to~end could cause a misfeed. The stamped magazine is a looser fit than the steel 40 rounder made by Armalite. As a result, the extra weight of another mag could cause the top, forward part of the mag in the well to dip ever so slightly and jam the top round against the well. Also, it would take far too long to remove the tape from the 2nd mag before inserting the mag which may cause you friends in more than one way.

The first time I worked with a SEAL team the very next piece of "rigger made" gear I had done was a ChiCom style magazine vest. If you can't find a real one then having one made out of light canvas and 1 1/2" nylon webbing is a cinch. Any local upholstery or skydiving rigger shed could put one of these together.