Sutherland Brothers

Captain Woody

Captain Woody

Ok, seeing as I'm relatively new to the hobby, there's a lot about it I have to learn.

In the world of M1 Helmet collecting, I've heard a lot about the legendary Sutherland Brothers. Now, I only know the basics about them. I know they were known for plundering a well know M1 helmet dump in Utah, and recently (and sadly) one of them passed away. I would just like any info you guys have to offer because there's almost no trace of them on the internet. I know the one brother has an eBay account and every so often sells a helmet or two. But that's it as far as reference material.

Please teach me about this hobby's history. (I make it sound so epic, ha)

The Suthbros were well=respected helmet reproductionists, as well as collectors. I bought two helmets out of their personal collection.

Mike

Do an eBay search in the community section. Gary Sutherland is still around and selling lids under the name of: Suthbros

He currently has some military items up on eBay.

Captain Woody

Thanks guys. Can anyone tell me how his brother passed? (Not to be disrespectful). And I checked Gary's ebay account and he puts a lid up for bids every so often.

What DRMO lot did they get their helmets from, because apparently it was rather large. I know it was somewhere in Utah..

by the way: Nice helmet costa

Thanks guys. Can anyone tell me how his brother passed? (Not to be disrespectful). And I checked Gary's ebay account and he puts a lid up for bids every so often.

What DRMO lot did they get their helmets from, because apparently it was rather large. I know it was somewhere in Utah..

by the way: Nice helmet costa

the mp helmet was bought from a member who got it from suthobros. it is id'ed-- partial number was tracked down to the vet. if you look closely at the liner visor you can just about make it out. i have the info on him.