B-17E 41-9210 and B-17F 42-29782

KEF

B-17E 41-9210 and B-17F 42-29782 where are they & why aren't they

I’m no expert but a B-17 enthusiast. I have some of the last photos and some info from a few docents of The Flying Heritage Collection (Paul Allen) owned B-17E 41-9210. I live in the area Marysville/Arlington 34 miles N. Of Seattle and had followed its acquisition by Paul Allen (became FHC) back in 1999. I snapped a few famous last know photos of 41-9210 right after it was flown in after it restoration by World Jet Inc, Fort Lauderdale, FL.

The Docents and “other” employee’s of FHC have told me Mr Allen his NO interest at this time to finish the restoration of the B-17E. Even as late as the summer of 2011 a docent I’ve known a few years said about the same thing no room at FHC to display it at this time and Mr. Allen’s other planes and museum items take up his time and interests.

The B-17E is in “pieces” stored or under “further restoration” some place on the planet.

I have my own Conspiracy Theory about B-17's NOT being displayed in the N.W. Seattle and Everett Washington State.

The Museum Of Flight in Seattle B-17F 42-29782 does not have a permanent display status either. Why these two great aviation artifacts which have their birth here have not a monument to them is because I believe (CT) the aviation hierarchy in the region wants the area to be thought of or known as the Jet Age, Rocket Age, Computer Age area/company(s). Old WWII bombers on display “prominently” do not fit a PC vision to a area/company that sells “JETS” to the world.

I know I heard it first hand from a manager at the company tour center. He said the company public image consultants want a image of the present not past aviation in this region of plane manufacturing.

Also I have a photo of B-17E 41-9210 in all three editions of Scott Thompson’s “Final Cut”

B-17E photos I shot can also be seen at this website http://forum.armyairforces.com/photo.aspx?albumid=291

“KEEP ‘EM FLYING” Kef