USMC T-Handle Shovel Cover

Shawn Sturgill

Shawn Sturgill

I'm fairly new to USMC stuff, and recently picked up this shovel cover with an original t-handle shovel. The seller never offered it as an original, but I was just curious if any of you could help confirm if it is an original or a reproduction.

1-4.jpg

2-6.jpg

3-5.jpg

4-6.jpg

Thanks,

-Shawn

I'd vote that it's original. A lot of USMC web gear is completely unmarked.

If it was a repro it would most likely have a big fat US stamp and an early date stamped on it because that's what sells. It also looks to have some green corrosion on the hanger which helps date it.

If it was a repro it would most likely have a big fat US stamp and an early date stamped on it because that's what sells. It also looks to have some green corrosion on the hanger which helps date it.

You wouldn't put a U.S. On that one cause it has marine corps hardware and that would be wrong.

IMO I think this is fake. It looks good but I don't like the buckle. I hope I'm wrong but I have one just like it and I know it's fake and I know who made it?

Ronnie

Shawn,

I will have to respectfully disagree with Harlan. Based on my own originals and others that I have seen, I feel that the cover you have shown is most likely a repro. I could certainly be wrong, of course, but several construction details regarding stitching, dimensions, and positioning of component parts, plus just a subjective "feel", say that the cover is not quite correct.

Again, that's only a semi-informed opinion....not holy script!! This piece of gear seems to be the most faked of all Marine Corps Philadelphia Depot manufactured items, and some of the repros are fairly sophisticated. This fact makes it difficult to give a guarantee either way--repro or real.

With respects,

Terry (Bagman)