Civil War Named Corps Badges

CaptA

Hello, I'm new to the US Militaria forum in general and this is my first post in this, Veterans Organizations forum in particular. I wanted to share my passion which is Civil war Corps badges. The ID badge on the bottom, last pics, came directly from the Veterans great great grandson with the same surname and Is a combat , On the uniform worn piece from the 4th New York heavies who saw action after their long stint of DC guard duty when the were attached to the Army of the Potomac 6th Army corps in the spring of 1864. They saw action at The Wilderness, Spotsylvania , Cold Harbor etc all major engagements the to the end at Appomattox .

The Solid Gold Corps Badge is from the 46th Reg Mass Vol Militia that was part of the Star brigade of the 18th Army Corps in North Carolina. The owner of the Badge DJ Marsh was a 2nd Lt he was assistant Adjutant General to Gen Horace C. Lee brigade commander and also served on the staff Of Gen John A. Dix and gen John G. Foster. Interesting to note that His Company, Company A had a MOH winner from action at Newbern NC. It was save from a gold scrapers pile. Note the scratches on the back of the badge where he tested the gold content what a dumb A@##!

The other 18th Corps badge is from Orson Moulton 25th Mass Vol who was promoted to LT COL in 1863. He was wounded and captured at Cold Harbor on June 3 1864. Six months later in Dec 1864 he was released in a prisoner exchange. A month later he retired from active service. he also was a member of MOLLUS. This corps badge looks as if at some point it was pocket carried and used as a watch fob this would account for some surface wear from pocket carrying and polishing over time. I wonder what the top hanger looked like! The engraving on both sides is superb! with a high power loop you can see the engravers marks as well as the years of wear that has slightly smoothed them. It is solid coin silver.