First display of my ejection seats

F-89J

First time out for my restored F-89J Scorpion seat and unrestored T-33 seat. Seats were displayed at the annual retiree breakfast

at the 148th FW in Duluth MN. Displayed with the '89 seat is a 16X20 print on canvas of a unit F-89J and a poem about the F-89.

Like Capt. Fig I'm just getting started on the T-33 seat, fortunately I have the aircraft tail number and have researched the unit

assignments and am looking for patches from those units. The history and patches for the F-89 are nearly complete.

post-43694-1309489778.jpg

post-43694-1309489817.jpg

I have always loved the F-89, a good old American masterpiece! A few years ago I designed an F-89 patch that a friend then made for me in return for the artwork. Like the F-94B, it was created in the paint program of Windows.

post-1443-1309492078.jpg

Fascinating and fine work. Where do you keep them when you don't have them out?

They are currently covered in the garage. I would like to keep them in the basement but that would preclude taking them out for others to see.

I have always loved the F-89, a good old American masterpiece! A few years ago I designed an F-89 patch that a friend then made for me in return for the artwork. Like the F-94B, it was created in the paint program of Windows.

I worked Special Weapons on the F-89J and F-101B/F. Here's the patch we had made from artwork supplied by Douglas Aircraft.

post-43694-1309494677.jpg

Well done display!

MW

Thanks. Hope to add story boards with the aircraft assignment history and patches.

Very nice. I know it took a long time and a lot of work.

Lots of late hours in the garage and figuring out how to fabricate parts. Picture is of the explosive initiators and canopy switch made from wood.

post-43694-1309495147.jpg

Our members never stop impressing me with the talent they possess.

I am impressed! :thumbsup:

And rightfully so :D !!