DSM named to KIA General

shrapneldude

shrapneldude

Found this today at a NC antique store. It was in a small case. It was reasonable enough to buy and considering the "BG" on there, I figured it'd be worth grabbing. I researched out a Brigadier General William R Bond who was killed in combat in Vietnam and commanded the 199th brigade. However, I haven't seen any regerence to his receiving a DSM.

Open to any thoughts and or comments.

post-1424-1307663036.jpg

shrapneldude

post-1424-1307663143.jpg

post-1424-1307663110.jpg

post-1424-1307663117.jpg

If nothing else, I guess it's a nice WWII era slotted brooch DSM medal. It only swivels 90 degrees

Dave might weigh in on this one. BG Bond's uniforms passed through our hands over time and are now housed in the Bond Room in the Infantry Museum. He may or may not have seen his medals in the past and he along with others can speak with more expertise on the engraving on the DSM.

I am no expert ! I don't like the heart i think its aging is fake and engraving :thumbdown: The PH seems more an 1980s vintage IMO!!!

as for DSM I have no clue?

post-620-1307671246.jpg

IMO The PH engraving is no good ! seems like the fakes coming out of FL.

My thoughts as well. I don't like the DSM but not even in the ballpark of expertise on that engraving.

I am no expert ! I don't like the heart i think its aging is fake and engraving :thumbdown: The PH seems more an 1980s vintage IMO!!!

as for DSM I have no clue?

This medal ( the PH ) is one of the fakes being engraved in Florida in recent days. We have discussed them on the forum before. Whoever it is has been prolific at cranking these out.

All of them have this same font and format ( date ETC ). Thank god the idiot making these does not know what he is doing.

Kurt

shrapneldude