Bombardier Wings-Original?

jetteraf

I picked these up based on pictures, and now that I have them in hand, have my doubts. These come with short pins, and one WWII style brass clutch. The back is marked STERLING and has a glossy blackened appearance. The front appears to also have had an antiquing applied vs. natural tarnish. Overall appearance seems a bit grainy, and I'm wondering if the piece isn't cast. Any opinions?

post-12383-1305612284.jpg

post-12383-1305612295.jpg

Hi,

I'm no expert regarding wings, although these don't look like they are authentic WW2 era, as they definitely look cast. It looks like there are a lot of imperfections on the wings of the badge caused by air bubbles, and I also don't like the pools of soldering that are holding in the pins. Also, the "sterling" hallmark should be very easily readable, and not blurred as it appears in your photo.

If these wings were marketed as authentic, you should try and get your money back.

Andrew

I'll take a different position and suggest that they are exactly what they seem to be, WWII vintage "graduation" or issue bombardier wings. Sometimes the quality of these wings was not the greatest, and the finish and quality of the strike can make them look cast. From what I see, they compare well with other wings in this pattern that I have seen

They are a relatively common pattern and not typically faked, because they are on the lower end of value.

From what I can see, my 2 cents are that they are 100% ok. :thumbsup:

Patrick

I also wanted to add that the "short" posts on the back are exactly what you would expect from a World War II era piece. The longer posts are generally associated with post-war manufacture.

I see no issues. Sterling silver is a fairly soft metal and the "pitted" look is probably slight damage from coming into contact with harder substances over the last 6 or 7 decades.