Any idea which of these two ANGUS & COOTE Service Pilot badge might be real?

CliffP

:unsure:

Here are two ANGUS & COOTE Service Pilot wing badges currently being offer on eBay.

One on them may have actually have been made during World War II.

Can anyone tell for sure which one it might be?

:think:

Badge #1_a, 1_b

- or -

Badge #2_a, 2_b

post-4542-1286947679.jpg

post-4542-1286947697.jpg

post-4542-1286947710.jpg

post-4542-1286947725.jpg

You are much more of an expert then I am Cliff.

I will say though, I don't like the lower wing (2).

Hard to tell on wing (1) with only the photos. but it might be ok.

Like I say, you know more then me, I am just a student of wings and

don't have an A&C 'S' wing in my collection to compare it to, just a pilot wing.

Best, John

I think I figured out the tells. Number 1 is the good one? Two is the repop. But I suspect that they will figure out the problem and fix it so that you can't tell the two apart as quickly anymore.

Patrick

I would vote for #1 as well. In my experience the WW2 era strikes aren't nearly as clean as the repros. There is usually some left over material on the back usually near the tips of the wings or near the center of the shield. On the pilot wings it's not unusual to find a little extra metal on the lower right of the front of the shield as well.

Wow, reading the response so far I am shocked! As someone that doesn’t collect wings I would have picked the # 2 wing because it looks to have much more crisp of a striking. :crying: I would not have given it a second thought that it was too nice of a striking! Great pop quiz! :twothumbup:

Wow, reading the response so far I am shocked! As someone that doesn’t collect wings I would have picked the # 2 wing because it looks to have much more crisp of a striking. :crying: I would not have given it a second thought that it was too nice of a striking! Great pop quiz! :twothumbup: