WWII CIVIL AIR PATROL UNIFORM

DEM

Hi, I'm new to USMF and my collecting interests vary a great deal. This is a complete Woman's CAP uniform. It includes tunic, skirt, shirt and hat. The tab under the cap patch says "GROUP STAFF". The silvered buttons have the tri-prop design. The tunic is dated 1943. I've never seen another has anyone else?

post-448-1169212822.jpg

The hat is a male service cap. The women were only authorized an overseas cap during this era. The coat looks very much like a males coat in the photograph. Is it formed like a woman with larger breast area and tapered waist? I used to have a female officers coat and there was a subtle difference from a mans coat.

These WWII CAP uniforms with red trim are very rare because the red trim came off in early 1945 (best I remember) and they went to standard Army uniforms with no red trim. What makes this uniform really rare is the "position tab", below the national patch on the left arm. These were phased out by early 1944 when CAP adpoted Army style rank. However, some of this obsolete insignia (including the red trim), sometimes continued to be worn after it was supposed to come off the uniform.

The winged propellor on the lower lapel appears to be standard AAF officers brass. CAP used an all silver winged prop (officially), the entire time they wore a winged propellor. With the addition of the correct C.A.P. upper lapel letters and the all silver wing/prop on the lower, this would be a very complete early wartime CAP officers uniform, be it either male or female.

You have some great pieces there and thanks for sharing them with us. thumbsup.gif

Having been in CAP in the early 60's, it's a kick to see an old uniform such as this. I recently came across some of the CAP's ongoing stumbling and fumbling about uniforms for the 21st century.

craig_pickrall

The uniform jacket shown buttons from the left side rather than the right so it is definately a female cut garment.