Members of the USMF community:
Today the administration was forced to suspend the account of community member DevilDan1900.
This member openly attempted to scam unsuspecting collectors into purchasing a "Pre WW1 era USMC Marine Officers Bell Crown Visor Hat" that he knew or had good reason to know was a complete fabrication.
The fake item was offered for sale by DevilDan1900 using the ebay name germannpinkk. As germannpinkk, the seller feigned ignorance as to originality and claimed that his collecting friend told him it was legit. In the original auction listing, DevilDan1900 / germannpinkk went so far as to claim "this is not my area of expertise, I am not a collector and am simply passing on the opinions of a collector" and "I am neither an expert in this field or a collector, this is simply an item I bought that I am offering for sale." (See Item number: 190194366564)
Many here will know DevilDan1900 as an avid collector of late 19th and early 20th century Marine Corps items, particularly bell crown visors and uniforms. He even started several reference threads on the subject. Assuming in the best light that a friend told him it was good, there is only ONE reason why DevilDan1900 / germannpinkk would feign ignorance of the item in his auctions and make outright false claims he is not a collector of such items: he is trying to defraud collectors.
For further (and more specific) details please see:
http://www.usmilitar...showtopic=15111
Unfortunately we cannot protect everyone or prevent him from ever selling military items, but we can try to protect this community from such scammers. Therefore, DevilDan1900 / germannpinkk is no longer a member of this forum - and will NEVER be welcomed again. We trusted him as a member of this community and many sought his advice as to originality and directions in collecting. Intentionally trying to defraud members of this community (particularly when the scammer is a respected member of this community) is perhaps one of the most repulsive reasons for a ban we can have.
Please make sure that all members and their friends use EXTREME caution when dealing with an individual bearing the following (or similar) names and/or information (which has been obtained thanks to prior posts here and elsewhere on the web):
NAME:
Matt Boire (name listed in vintage motorcycle ad)
Matthew Boire
Shanda M. Becht(found using public records based on location and name on some prior responses from germannpink account)
BIRTHDATE:
Approx 1982 (listed himself as high school Class of 2000)
USERNAMES:
lmbctr (ebay account by this name is listed as suspended)
DevilDan1900 (ebay account by this name is listed as suspended)
TheRedBaron
germannpinkk
E-MAILS
charger59@hotmail.com
deepwater1982@lycos.com
vetttepinkk@yahoo.com
LOCATION:
Plattsburgh, NY
Banning is not something the administration here likes to do. However, sometimes a user makes it such that there is no other alternative. Such behavior as in the above thread is not and will not be tolerated among this community. Any member coming across similar instances is encouraged to report this to the USMF administration to see if any action can be taken.
ADMIN
Edited by ADMIN, 25 April 2009 - 10:27 AM.
Added additional info of his fake ID's.












