• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 NamHelmet

NamHelmet
  • Members
    • Member ID: 30,111
  • 169 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 08:30 AM

I hope I am not over-posting, but were Mk 19 Grenade Launchers used on aircraft ever, such on a Huey? My Dad has 3 40mm ammo cans and he wanted to know more about them (posted in topic): http://www.usmilitar...howtopic=136373

Hope you guys had a good Presidents Day. :thumbsup:

Edited by NamHelmet, 21 February 2012 - 08:32 AM.

#2 Manchu Warrior

Manchu Warrior
  • Members
    • Member ID: 1,412
  • 3,109 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 11:37 AM

As a crew member on a M113 I was qualified on the MK19. And I am not an expert, with that said I don't ever remember anyone ever talking about the MK19 ever being used on helicopters. And just a little side note, it was one hell of a weapon and sure was a lot of fun to fire.

Edited by Manchu Warrior, 21 February 2012 - 11:45 AM.

#3 NamHelmet

NamHelmet
  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 11:51 AM

As a crew member on a M113 I was qualified on the MK19. And I am not an expert, with that said I don't ever remember anyone ever talking about the MK19 ever being used on helicopters. And just a little side note, it was one hell of a weapon and sure was a lot of fun to fire.

I saw a few pictures. It's like an atomic 50 cal! For some weird reason I love the M113. It's basically a box but sure as hell beats a truck any day! When were you a crew member? Do you remember what model of M113 you crewed?

#4 CNY Militaria

CNY Militaria

SENIOR MODERATOR

• Senior Moderators
    • Member ID: 94
  • 9,667 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 11:59 AM

Actually, YES! One of my former Battalion Commanders (now a Brigade Commander) mounted a MK-19 on a Huey and flew around Desert Storm with it as a 2LT.

#5 NamHelmet

NamHelmet
  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 12:05 PM