Bluehawk Posted April 21, 2012 #1 Posted April 21, 2012 Got this in the daily e-mail today - possibly because I have contributed Remembrances to Virtual Wall and Air Force Memorial Foundation websites. Not sure how or whether it is legitimate, but want to put it out here for any insights anyone may have. Turned out the "photo of [my] loved one" was an image of Capt. Michael Thomas Adams who went down over Laos in 1969 - definitely NOT a personal "loved one." I have no clue who posted that photo to the Virtual Wall, but it was not me. I did complete a Remembrance for him on AirForceTogetherWeServed.com probably 3 years ago. Anybody know anything about this? ------------------------ Fritz Johnston Vice President Brand Management & Advertising The Boeing Company 100 N Riverside, MC 5003-0982 Chicago, IL, 60606-1596 Greetings, The Boeing Company is in the process of producing advertising in recognition of Memorial Day, 2012. This advertising will pay tribute to all who made the ultimate sacrifice in the service of our nation. Through the support of our various veterans and military partner organizations, we have identified a photo of your loved one for potential use in this advertising tribute. The photo may be seen on television, in print and online. We can assure you the photo will be treated with the respect and dignity it deserves. If you are comfortable granting us permission for the use of this photo, please respond to drew.palombi@gmail.com with a simple confirmation by April 25. If your photo is selected for use in this special communication, a donation of $1,000 will be made to an approved charity of your choice. If you have any questions on the project or need additional information, please feel free to reach out to Drew Palombi (production supervisor) 310-899-1737. Thank you, Fritz Johnston
BEAST Posted April 21, 2012 #2 Posted April 21, 2012 I don't know whether real or not, but the first red flag is the use of a gmail account. If this was sponsored by Boeing, why wouldn't have a Boeing email address?
Bluehawk Posted April 21, 2012 Author #3 Posted April 21, 2012 I don't know whether real or not, but the first red flag is the use of a gmail account. If this was sponsored by Boeing, why wouldn't have a Boeing email address? Good point... I've got a funny feeling about this.
Jack's Son Posted April 21, 2012 #4 Posted April 21, 2012 For those who respond, the next sound you hear will be your hard drive frying! SOMETHING'S UP!!
gwb123 Posted April 21, 2012 #5 Posted April 21, 2012 Try writing Boeing by conventional mail and see if you get a response.
Bluehawk Posted April 21, 2012 Author #6 Posted April 21, 2012 Try writing Boeing by conventional mail and see if you get a response. I'll do just that.
Golem Posted April 21, 2012 #7 Posted April 21, 2012 I'd not waste another minute on it. It's spam, pure and simple.
Bluehawk Posted April 25, 2012 Author #8 Posted April 25, 2012 Received the following response late this afternoon: ------------------- I will check Todd Blecher Boeing -- Communications Office: 312-544-2201 Mobile: 312-543-4311 www.boeing.com @boeing, @boeingairplanes, @boeingdefense facebook.com/boeingstore; www.facebook.com/boeingcareers YouTube.com/boeing
Bluehawk Posted April 28, 2012 Author #9 Posted April 28, 2012 Received a response on Saturday, April 28th in PM: ------------------- I believe it is legitimate. Mr. Johnston was going to contact you. Todd Blecher Boeing - Communications 312-544-2201 (office) 312-543-4311 (mobile) Twitter: @boeing, @boeingairplanes, @boeingdefense
3rdeye Posted April 28, 2012 #10 Posted April 28, 2012 Its garbage! any legitimate Boeing employee will have "boeing.com" email,,and Boeing would not contact you in this manner trust me I know!
Bluehawk Posted April 29, 2012 Author #11 Posted April 29, 2012 Its garbage! any legitimate Boeing employee will have "boeing.com" email,,and Boeing would not contact you in this mannertrust me I know! Something's up then. This is too dang weird. The guy who responded is, supposedly, a serving Boeing employee.
sactroop Posted May 5, 2012 #12 Posted May 5, 2012 Went to Boeing site, Executive Biographies, searched Fritz Johnston. http://search-www.boeing.com/search?q=Frit...10&btnG.y=8 Can't think of one good reason for me to conduct company business outside of official channels. At least not while I worked for a major company. I'd use Boeings supplied directories to contact him and confirm this story.
Bluehawk Posted May 5, 2012 Author #13 Posted May 5, 2012 Went to Boeing site, Executive Biographies, searched Fritz Johnston.http://search-www.boeing.com/search?q=Frit...10&btnG.y=8 Can't think of one good reason for me to conduct company business outside of official channels. At least not while I worked for a major company. I'd use Boeings supplied directories to contact him and confirm this story. He phoned me after a couple of requests to Boeing's main information contact guy. We had a good brief conversation, during which he established his credentials at Boeing, reported that their memorial film is being put together in Los Angeles this week, and that it will include veterans of several wars. He said he would send a DVD of the final broadcast version.
sactroop Posted May 5, 2012 #14 Posted May 5, 2012 Alls well that ends well. Did seem like a lot of red flags though in the way you were first contacted.
Bluehawk Posted May 5, 2012 Author #15 Posted May 5, 2012 ...Did seem like a lot of red flags though in the way you were first contacted. Surely did!
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now