US Cannon, Repro?

ponyradish

I picked up this little beauty at an estate sale a couple of weeks ago. The top of the cannon by the touch hole is marked "US". As you can see by the leaf in the foreground it is a great collectible size. The cannon itself measures 14" in length, the entire length is 30". It appears to be about 75 caliber. It's a heavy little snot and I'm dying to touch it off. Now the questions. Is this a legit military piece? Signal cannon? toy? I can find nothing on the internet about time period, history, value, nothing. It is not maker marked. I see a few small ones on GunBroker and they seem to be bringing big dollars. Any help will be appreciated. Pony.

post-938-1287063451.jpg

post-938-1287063460.jpg

Can't anyone give me some help with idendtifying this cannon? Is it a US contract item? thanks in advance.

Are there any stampings on the ends of the trunnions? I'm no expert, but I don't think it is U.S. issue in spite of the barrel marking, but I am willing to be proven wrong!

Ponyradish

A “US” cast into an object does not make it a U.S. military contract item. On something like this, some marks indicating it passed some type of inspection before it was accepted would be expected. That is what HerbG was asking about.

My guess is like bummer’s, maybe to start races or parties?? Your cannon is very nice, however I do not think your canon belongs on this board.

That link looks perfect for your cannon.

45B20

Thanks everyone for the help. I'm not a cannon collector so was not sure. I guess "US" stamped on an item does not mean made for "US" military use.

suwanneetrader