Navy Officer unform help? USN Commander

k98_man

At a local estate sale I have found an item they are calling a Navy officer's uniform. I have yet to get the full details, but I will call tommorrow morning before going. I have no experience with U.S stuff so any help would be great here.

They say it's just a uniform jacket with "stripes on the side". It may not even be world war II, but that is what they said.

What would be a general cost of any kind of navy officer jacket? I know you all have absolutely no information on this particular one, but any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks so much,

Mansal

At a local estate sale I have found an item they are calling a Navy officer's uniform. I have yet to get the full details, but I will call tommorrow morning before going. I have no experience with U.S stuff so any help would be great here.

They say it's just a uniform jacket with "stripes on the side". It may not even be world war II, but that is what they said.

What would be a general cost of any kind of navy officer jacket? I know you all have absolutely no information on this particular one, but any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks so much,

Mansal

Here's a photo of a US Navy officer's dress blue jacket. I find a lot of these in local thrift stores and sell them on ebay for about $40-45. The stripes on the sleeve show the officers rank (you can learn more about that here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States...r_rank_insignia ). Coats with Captains and especially Admiral's stripes are more desirable.

navy0803a.jpg

If you look inside the inside pocket of the coat you will usually find a tailor's label that may have the name of the officer and the date the coat was made, such as this one:

navy0725clabel.jpg