Various WW1 Uniforms

Jim Baker

This is my first WWI uniform, and of course, it's armor. I really love the patch on this. The armored collar insignia is French made. Between the insignia and the patch, the uniform and pants were virtually free.

post-78-1167345909.jpg

post-78-1167345934.jpg

post-78-1167345956.jpg

post-78-1167345974.jpg

post-78-1167345995.jpg

For a total novice what do the different colours on the armoured patch denote?Also on the WW1 patch the colours "red and blue" are in a different position to a WW2 type?

Yellow - Cavalry

Red - Artillery

Blue - Infantry

General Patton, then a Colonel, was responsible for the design. "We claim to have the firepower of the artillery, the mobility of cavalry, and the ability to hold ground like the infantry." Yellow was on top to honor the cavalry, Patton's branch at the time. The WWII design came about in 1940. The red and blue were reversed on the later design, but examples of the hand made patches in WWI may have the colors reversed.

You will find the same 3 primary colours on the 66th Armored Regiment DIs of the 2nd Armored Division. This is because they can trace thier lineage back to the 1st or 2nd Tank Battalion of the 1st World War.

CNY Militaria

Here are some of my WWI uniforms:

3rd Corps Ordnance and 7th ID QM SGT.

Infantry Major, Named

Converted officer uniform, named Cpl. , WIA. Someone removed a shoulder patch before I had it.

mil_055.jpg

mil_056.jpg

mil_057.jpg

CNY Militaria

Advance Service of Supply First Sergeant. As you can see, its in bad condition, and I have contemplated removing all insignia.

26th ID WIA Uniform.

mil_058.jpg

mil_059.jpg