• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Jet Rooster

Jet Rooster
  • New Members
    • Member ID: 7,344
  • 9 posts

Posted 29 July 2009 - 10:27 PM

This is my first post aside from intro. I have recently been given some items from my Wife's grandfather. They include a 1918 McClellan 12 inch saddle. US Issue Saddle Bags with complete muslin(??) liners. Spurs (origin unknown). M1918 Rifle Scabbard. Some bits and halters. I'm wondering how to best proceed with stabilizing the leather and metal, before attempting to preserve. The leather is in fairly good shape, but covered with mold.
I know I will get several opinions, but that is what I am looking for. I'm a newbie at inserting photos, so I am including a link to a public Picasa album with high res photos of the stuff. If anybody wants better/different pics just let me know.
Thanks in advance,
Rooster

Photos here:
http://picasaweb.goo...feat=directlink

NSDQ
SGDM

#2 SGM (ret.)

SGM (ret.)
  • Members
    • Member ID: 626
  • 462 posts

Posted 30 July 2009 - 02:22 AM

Hey Rooster,

Welcome to the Forums. Those are some very nice artifacts and certainly worthy of your efforts to conserve them and your wife's family history.

A couple of suggestions: If you use the search feature looking for "leather" you'll get a passle of topics to read over. Then check the sticky at the top of the Preservation section and check out the conservation supplies.

You'll find several recommendations for leather dressings, the most favored is Picards, but there are others. At the very least, as you're researching the subject, you can use a vacuum with a dust brush attachment to clean the gross dirt and dust, insect cocoons, etc. off the surface and from the crevices. Be careful and judge your progress on how well the leather seems to be holding up from the handling. I assume from your photos that the leather is sound with no surface flaking or powdering, but that's just me looking at you pictures.