Advice for New Collectors

Dave

I have been collecting now for nearly 21 years, and thought it would be appropriate to share some bits of wisdom with newer collectors. All are welcome to contribute to this thread - one of the things I've learned is that no one can know everything! Three big things I've learned:

1) BUY BOOKS! I've never met anyone who has regretted spending money on reference books, but I HAVE met many people who wished they had bought a book on their collecting interest but instead invested money into their field only to lose their shirt. Buying good reference books and educating yourself first is the first step to having a great collection! Just remember that 99.99% of militaria will come up for sale again sometime in the future... be patient and buy your education now, then militaria when you know what you're doing.

2) Buy what you're interested in, but buy the best. This is from a guy who spent the last 20 years being told by friends to buy "high end" items, but instead investing in items that had "character". Now don't get me wrong... sometimes those items that aren't the best have the best personal meaning, and that's worth more than anything. However, I haven't lost my shirt too many times trying to resell the things I've bought before, but trust me on this - I would have been a lot better off listening to my collecting mentors!

3) Always keep an open mind, and always know your friends. This is important anywhere you go and anything you do. Make sure that you're always willing to learn, and sometimes (when you have to) be graceful in taking your lumps. No one likes a collector who is defensive about something that's clearly fake, but that they believe to be real. Learn who you can trust in the field, and keep them as your friends. Keep a good reputation as both a buyer and seller - it will always pay off for you.

There's lots more theory out there, but these are my "big three" for new collectors.

What other thoughts are out there???