USMC Iwo Jima MP officer's grouping

MWalsh

Here is a recent find of mine - several uniforms and then the best part of the group - his service journal he nicely filled out, and pictures of him in civilian clothes and then in one of the very uniforms I have in the group!

The set consists of several of his uniforms - all are very nicely named to him. One of them is an enlisted man's uniform - he was enlisted before he went to officer's candidate school and got commissioned. The other uniforms are his dress whites, several dress khaki's, and then the nice set of dress greens; the greens are all complete with badges, EGA's, ribbons, etc. The 5th MAC patch is a realyl nice felt example. All of the items in this group are original to it, nothing was restored on any of it. The journal is nicely filled out - I photoed some excerpts from it. He served as a Military Police officer, I strongly suspect he was an MP Platoon leader actually, and he was on Iwo Jima; that appears to have been his only campaign during the war. The journal was well kept, he noted about everything he did in the Marine Corps. It's not a day to day diary, but rather a month to month and event to event type journal. It has some news clippings in it too, some about friends, some about him getting married. In the journal are the names of "buddies I know" or something like that, by several of them he crossed the names off and then wrote a Marine Corps campaign next to that name - I checked and those men who were crossed off were killed in action in the campaign he wrote next to their names. His platoon of MP's had one KIA and one WIA on Iwo Jima - he noted their names and status in the journal too.

This is one of the nicest and most interesting USMC groups I have come across in a long time - I am very pleased to have acquired it!

MW

post-440-1241224313.jpg

post-440-1241224323.jpg

Mike

Fantastic grouping, especially with that patched set of greens!!! Well done and thank you for sharing!

Mark

Mike,