WW2 ERA NAVY FLAGS, MARKINGS, CHARACTERISTICS

dhcoleterracina

dhcoleterracina

I am a NOVICE flag collector who loves Navy flags. It is disheartening to see auction sites sell flags claiming historical events or eras that I think don't agree with what I've learned about Navy flags in a short time. There have been several threads in our "real or not" section where a flag is simply stenciled with a historical event, Pearl Harbor for example, and these auctions close in excess of $5000 each time. One particular seller gives no provenance and claims the flag was purchased from another collector who has passed on. Some closet collector who has purchased one of these flags will have quite a shock in the future, or his heirs will. I've seen this play out in the TR area numerous times but now it is creeping into various areas of US militaria that we believed safe.

So...I'll be posting flags that I believe to be "good". I'm not thin skinned so please correct me if you are more knowledgeable, we're always learning something new.

Navy flags, since before WW1, are numbered according to size from 1 (the largest) to 12 (the smallest). Although a #12 was flown on tenders or other very small craft, they are very popular with collectors because they can be most easily framed and displayed because of their small size.

Below is a shot of several flags lying on each other to show size differences from #7 to #12.

post-573-0-02662700-1577213809_thumb.jpg

dhcoleterracina

A few comments...

The lowest flag, a #7 is smaller than the flag above. A #7 should have a hoist measurement of over five feet, this one is a few inches less. The reason, I believe, is that these are wool and shrink after exposure to water. Use published flag size charts as a guide only, actual sizes vary depending on use.

I've never encountered a flag marked #8, please post a #8 if you have one.