WWII M1 Helmet, Front Seam

kristoffer

Hi,

I have a few photos that I want to share. Helmets are not something that I have a lot of knowledge in.

Can you guys tell me what I have here. I know it's a front seam M1 helmet. I would say it's WWII. Is anything replaced on it?

Would really appreciate all feedback

Happy holidays to all of you.

Regards Kristoffer

post-2812-0-82417200-1577039874.jpg

post-2812-0-52219800-1577039897.jpg

post-2812-0-11680700-1577039914.jpg

post-2812-0-54916500-1577039935.jpg

Don‘t know about the liner, but the helmet looks ok. There should be a stamp on the inside front of the helmet. That will help you date the helmet.

The liner appears to be a WW2 produced Capac. The shell almost certainly is a McCord, which had its manufacturing facility in Detroit. It's a later war swivel loop model. Standard WW2 set I'd say, of interest is the adjustable neck nape strap in the liner which would have been installed around 1945.

Please don't use sand paper if the lot number in the helmet is hard to read. A view of the shell's outer side would be nice.

The only thing I can see thats missing is the liner chin strap and the sweatband..... Otherwise nice!!!

And a close up of the front seam would be great but I think I see McCord Crimp marks on it?

Ditto CAPAC

Ditto no sand paper on the heat stamp. Hold it at different angles to read it. Unless the paints too thick you should be able to read it.

Close up on the bails where the straps attach?

Nice !!

• 2 weeks later...

Hello,

I got some new photos from the seller today. He was on vaccation over the holidays. A few new photos but not exactly the ones I hoped for.

Would you guys say that 240$ is a reasonable price given its condition? Chin strap and sweat band missing and has a tear to the webbing.

Would it be easy to replace the sweatband?

Regards Kristoffer

post-2812-0-94382800-1578300012.jpg

post-2812-0-32050200-1578300022.jpg

post-2812-0-01472500-1578300032.jpg

Hello,