M1 Carbine Bayonet - from WW2?

ConfederateCanuck

ConfederateCanuck

Hi everyone. This is my 1st post ever on these Forums. You must get alot of postings similar to the one I just posted...but since I am totally new to collecting bayonets, I sure would appreciate your help. Can you please give me whatever information you can based on the various markings on my bayonet. Also, can you verify if it's from WW2? I am certain the scabbard is not.

post-226973-0-04606600-1563130213_thumb.jpg

Ummmm.....how do I post multiple pictures??? It's not allowing me.

The total of the pictures size has to be less than 251KB, just make the pictures smaller or make a reply to your post with more pictures.

Confederate Canuck- On behalf of everyone! Welcome to the forum. Lots of good, knowledgeable, folks here. You will enjoy! Now, first off, what is the name of the manufacturer stamped on the front of the guard? Camillus, Imperial, and PAL, all used brown, or black spacers in their WW2 M4 production. The grooves in the leather handle appear to be "V" shaped which are characteristic of late war production. Imperial made both square cut, and "V" cut grooves. SKIP

ConfederateCanuck

2nd pic shows its PAL. RE pommel peen...through use the peen could have been worn/hammered into the shape it is now. There are other signs of wear on the pommel. I have alot of experience with vintage firearms,all the way back to 1850s weapons so I know that wear and tear can alter the metal...but I definitely wouldnt know if that pommel was worn, repaired, or fake.

ConfederateCanuck

So you think it's a fake? Any other features or markings that would suggest it's real or fake?

No, it is made of steel.

The guard markings look a little different to me than mine or the Cunningham picture but I am not an M4 expert.

Also I noticed that none of my PAL M4 blades had those machining marks below the false edge.

post-165606-0-64110300-1563138154.jpg

ConfederateCanuck,

First of all, welcome to the forum.