2 Panel Corpsman Helmet - Opinions?

Nickman983

Just picked this one up from John this week. Figured I'd make my own thread as the other didn't gain much traction and I plan on adding a lot more pictures of this helmet so I figured it's best to have them at the top of the thread.

I think everything looks OK on this one but I am by no means an expert on painted helmets let alone medic helmets so I'd be very interesting in hearing what others think.

I believe I'm seeing some signs of micro cracking, but it's not widespread. I'll attach some pictures of both the areas with and without micro cracking to hopefully give a good view on the paint.

As mentioned on the previous thread, there's a first initial and last name marked inside the helmet as C. Nuernberger. There is also what appears to be a SSN below the vet's name. I've tried searching the AAD but haven't had any luck just yet.

Assuming everything is legit, my assumption would be that this is a Korean War helmet, would this be correct?

Here is an Imgur album with the full resolution images for anyone who's interested https://imgur.com/a/JD67WQu

Here's the link to the previous thread http://www.usmilitariaforum.com/forums/index.php?/topic/328557-named-2-panel-usn-medical-helmet/

Here are the first two images of the front and hook side of the helmet

post-169952-0-49557600-1561070034.jpg

post-169952-0-78245600-1561070039.jpg

panel on hook side

These are the last set of pictures.

I know I've already posted a lot of photos but if anyone would like to see more please let me know

post-169952-0-42014100-1561070429.jpg

post-169952-0-59269800-1561070433.jpg

Looks Ok to me although I am by far no means an expert on painted helmets. Looks KW vintage to me

Yea, that's my assumption as well especially given thr HM1 rank written next to the vet's name. I think I've seen a few examples of KW medic helmets on here that are very similar to this one as well.

Burning Hazard