What military items do you use as everyday items?

aussieboy

This is my first topic I've started since joining........I've got to start somewhere I guess!

I am quite interested to know what military items USMF members use as part of their every day use.

As an example, I am an avid hiker. I used my M1 Garand cartridge belt to store snacks in the pouches. It keeps everything convenient, so I don't have to stop and eat.

I also used my Australian WW1 canteen on a number of occasions on my hikes.

I wore my WW2 Australian Owen SMG bayonet on a few trips as my knife.

As I work as a nurse in Intensive Care, I always carry my US Vietnam issue 1968 pocket knife. It's great for piercing IV bags before throwing them out and for cutting IV lines.

Do you have a military issue knife in your toolbox?

Or maybe a military issue wheel brace in your car for your spare tyre?

I'd love one day to buy a genuine WW2 Willy's Jeep to drive to work.....man, THAT would turn some heads!

For winter I have and use

USAF B-9B cap

OD basic trainining issue pile cap

Silk Weight RFI long johns, black and tan

Fleece caps black coyote and ACU Grey green

Nomex gloves

GI wool scarf

Various Field jackets in OD, woodland and DCU

Danner boots

Summer

Various issued camelbacks

DCU Boonie

Year round

ACU assault pack

DCU camelback motherlode pack

Woodland poncho

OD vomit suit parka

I use the recent issue US sustainment bag as my daily lunch bag and as a shoulder bag on occasion. The 1942 British large pack is handy for visits to the flea market. And I wear the recent issue boonie as per the weather. I'm not a veteran, so have several "Honor the troops" type pins on it. I don't want to be accused of anything like stolen valor, but I think it is important to give people a reminder that we have a lot of great men and women putting their lives on the line for us.

post-2687-0-20953700-1541173222_thumb.jpg

Mikie

General Apathy