thanks for your help on KA-BAR

Sergesquadron

Sergesquadron

Hello
I'm new to the KA-BAR collection.
Can you tell me for reconaitre an original WWII KA-BAR, i ni understood anything of the dagger of the Second World War, I'm looking for an original USMC in very good condition, thanks for your help.
Serge

https://www.ebay.com/itm/WW2-USMC-Kabar-Camillus-Fighting-Knife-Near-Mint-Named/163226019694?hash=item260107676e:g:jtoAAOSwxHdbhYVV

Sergesquadron

Please add pictures to ebay listings - the listing will not last forever. Thanks

thank you for pictures

The Camillus guard marked US USMC MARK 2 you linked is WWII but it seems overpriced to me.

mikedon,

What do think selling price should be on this item?

John

According to Frank Trzaska there were 3 contracts for the Camillus USMC Mark 2, 10/1943, 6/1944, and 1/1945 totaling 353,000. I am not sure when the switch from blade marked to guard marked was made.

I usually consider the guard marked thin pinned pommel Camillus Mark 2s as made in 1944, and correct with the plastic sheath. If in a leather sheath I usually look for the nine rivets as opposed to staples, but the leather sheath seems to be found generally with the blade marked, thick peened pommel versions. That's just my general rule, but others may have other opinions.

I don't think Camillus made any USMC MARK 2 knives during the war with a thick peened pommel.

From Frank's Knife World article January 2006.

CAMILLUS CUTLERY CO.