Secretary of the Army Flag. What do you think?

awmartin

I found this secretary of the army flag and while it cost a lot of money ($325), after a lot of thought I decided to pull the trigger even though that's a lot of money for me. Anyways, none of it glows under a UV, and it looks to be handmade and measures 15 1/2 by 10 1/2 inches tall. Unfortunately the story about it's history wasn't very exciting, the seller got it from the brother of an estate she was cleaning out.

I've seen one undersecretary of the army flag that sold at mohawk auction I think, although it looked to be newer.

What are your thoughts about this? Should I be really sad or glad?

post-8778-0-15729600-1517110651_thumb.jpg

I’m no expert, but this doesn’t look to be the quality or style of an official piece but maybe early ones were like this. Or mabe it was locally made for use if the Sec Army were to visit?

I’m no expert, but this doesn’t look to be the quality or style of an official piece but maybe early ones were like this. Or mabe it was locally made for use if the Sec Army were to visit?

I agree. When I saw this I was thinking that it was an early style. From what I saw on wikipedia this position replaced the secretary of the war in 1947.

That is one ugly flag....if this was officially presented or issued...I'd be surprised....the embroider person should be re-assigned. All I can say is YUK...YUK...YUK! I apologize for being "negative"...but ...I just can't say... "WOW...cool...nice flag!" I'm sure that there are flag SMEs out there....that'll comment.

Here's something interesting...I have an original Secretary of War flag from WW2...and someone crossed out the "War" and wrote "Army" on it. It almost looks like exactly the same handwriting...

sec army.jpg