Darkest Hour - New Winston Churchill/Dunkirk Movie

huntssurplus

I have done a few reviews now and I just got back from the theater after seeing this movie that I thought I give it a review. I would like to say that this is all my opinion and that I am not an expert in the field of history this movie covers, nor am I a professional film critic. I am just a guy in a chair at my house who likes history and movies.

I'll try to keep this review spoiler free so if you want to go watch it in theaters right now you can, but since the movie is a historical film you can't really spoil anything to hinder the enjoyment of the film as the events already happened almost 78 years ago.

Now for my opinions. I have to say this really was a great movie. A mix of humor and real historical accuracy makes this movie great. I think it had a great balance of seriousness with a few good jokes that weren't cringey or felt out of place. Gary Oldman gave a steller and possibly Oscar worthy performance as Winston Churchill and there were great performances by the supporting characters as well such as the secretary, Churchill's wife, Halifax, Chamberlin, the King, pretty much every actor or actress did a really good job in this movie. I thought that the movie flowed really well, and kept my attention pretty well throughout the entire film. The movie was also quite uplifting too and I left the theater willing to pick up a rifle to fight for the British cause.

In terms of historical accuracy, again I am no expert but it seemed pretty accurate. Of course the movie is a drama so a lot of what actually happened was dramatised and some of scenes that happened in movie never happened if real life, but the overarching premise I felt stayed intact and didn't stray to far from what actually happened. Keep in mind this is a movie meant for entertainment not a documentary, however, it might spark some more interest in the topic.