Flying with personal items during night missions in Vietnam?

stratasfan

Hi, all! Hoping some Vietnam vets or pros might know the answer to this one. Been working hot and heavy on putting my Uncle's brother's story together. When they did a crash site search for the remains 13 years after they were shot down, one of the things that helped ID my Uncle's Bro was a piece of his wallet that had a bit of a card left in it with his name. It was either a flight card or a membership card from a club.

Question: Were you allowed to take personal, identifying items on night missions during Vietnam? I know in WWII that you were not. However, I don't know about Vietnam, so thought someone might be able to help me out! :)

Patchcollector

I'm no expert on this subject but I think that Aircrew members would have been allowed items with ID.I'm sure that there were exceptions,especially with some of the "over the fence" missions.

Hi, all! Hoping some Vietnam vets or pros might know the answer to this one. Been working hot and heavy on putting my Uncle's brother's story together. When they did a crash site search for the remains 13 years after they were shot down, one of the things that helped ID my Uncle's Bro was a piece of his wallet that had a bit of a card left in it with his name. It was either a flight card or a membership card from a club.

Question: Were you allowed to take personal, identifying items on night missions during Vietnam? I know in WWII that you were not. However, I don't know about Vietnam, so thought someone might be able to help me out! :)

I would imagine the only thing they took was their wallet, whatever there might of been in it? photos ok right as that one common thing carried in a wallet, Armed Forces ID right, but perhaps personal stuff that might list a next of kin's name and address was prohibited?