Blade Marked Imperial for Study

SKIPH

Stumbled on this blade marked Imperial M3 this morning. Ebay # 292265094339. Staring bid $100. Blade condition caught my eye, so I checked it out. Blade marked Imperials seem to be abundant, so almost let it pass. I then noticed the handle, "V +" grooves, kind of deep, and did not have the usual Imperial shape.. But what really caught my eye was the 2 ordinance stamps on the pommel. One stamp was on the tang, never seen that on any legit M3. I don't know the seller. Check it out and see what else you can find, or what I missed at 0500. SKIP

I thought 8-groove handles were the norm on M3s, but I'm still learning about M3s so correct me if I'm wrong.

"The M3 knife normally had a grip of stacked leather washers with 8 "square" grooves (that is, grooves with parallel sides). The grooves were made by either using leather washers of different diameters (#3 and #2 washers) or by cutting the grooves into a single diameter washer during the finishing process (called "hafting" in the industry). Close inspection can allow the collector to determine which version they have by observing whether the washers are all the same width or if the groove has been cut into the washers."

Wish I could see a closer image of the stamp. From the closest picture I think I might be seeing something similar to the Utica we were taking about previously. Is it me or do I see what looks like tiny pitting in the bottom of at least some of the letters? I can't think of a reason for a stamp to leave that. The overall condition of the knife would seem to rule out the roughness being a result of previous neglect and some corrosion.

Six, seven, eight, nine, the number of grooves vary. When your looking at M3's avoid looking at them as the group. Each manufacture did things slightly differently. For instance a Camillus M3 won't have a peened or staked pommel.