Picture of Soldier in uniform - is the WWI?

stratasfan

Picked this photograph up some years ago and it has been in my desk drawer ever since! Would love to know if this is a WWI soldier. I am not good enough to tell by the uniform, though, so I thought I'd post it and see what some on here can tell. Thanks for any thoughts! :)

post-151812-0-10699100-1505243568_thumb.jpg

Sure looks like WWI to me. Can just see a shoulder sleeve insignia on his left shoulder, and maybe overseas bars / chevrons on his left lower sleeve?

Smarter WWI uniform folks will be along shortly. Cool picture, I love the dog.

I'm no expert but this sure looks like a WW1 uniform. If you look at the cover of this book by Ken Lewis ( of Norman D Landing fame) you see at the left a WW1 uniform. But more experienced forum members can probably tell you more. Ken..........?

post-169612-0-44396900-1505245108.jpg

Rene

Here, I got a closer pic, maybe you can see more! Also a pic of the back. He wrote a note in German and it must have been taken Sept 1919.

post-151812-0-24040700-1505249628_thumb.jpg

post-151812-0-25693400-1505249635_thumb.jpg

Thanks so much for the help! I always assumed he was German, but then when I looked at it again, I thought his uniform looked US. ;)

SFC...could he be a Norwegian as well? Also, while we don't know what the significance is for September 26, does it read like a Birthday greeting to you?

Unclegrumpy

He could be, but I don't think so ,despite our language is very close. I think it's a birthday greeting to him from his mother.

The 26th of September was/is the birthday of our King Christian X 1870-1947.

Thanks SFC...I thought it read like a birthday greeting, but having it also the King's birthday is a really interesting and neat possibility...one none of us would have ever considered!