ERDL SF?

Vix Steel

Picked this up at the Rag House the other day.

Looks like the jump wings patch has been removed...

No signs of there ever been a name tape.

Colors are still nice and fresh.

What do you guys think? Im no expert on the era of the patches.

Thanx!

post-2893-0-54264800-1484868658_thumb.jpg

post-2893-0-42812000-1484868667_thumb.jpg

Looks right. Fully embroidered patches had been fielded before the end of the war.

Also keep in mind a lot of SF troops preferred to wear ERDL well into the 1970's. It was a special uniform to set them apart from the crowd.

Re: Airborne Tab,

Good question that I didn't think of. I'll look to see if it was ever there but at first glance I don't recall seeing any loose threads or ghosting.

The way that US Army tape is on there looks funky to me. Per the reg the name tape was supposed to be sewn horizontally but many soldiers put them on top of the pocket like that so the slant of the tape matched the slant of the pocket. However, every one I've seen has been centered on the pocket, whereas that one is "justified" to the right (wearer's left.) Never saw that before (although I know from experience that strict adherence to uniform regs is not a hallmark of the Special Forces. ;) )

It doesn't have much fade for being an ERDL. Most of the one ones I've seen are pretty worn. I could see that as being something that the soldier kept in his duffel bag but didn't wear much.

the position of the US ARMY tape doesnt look very military or professional to me. pretty fishy to me.

that ERDL looks great though