WWII 225th Field Artillery Captured Japanese Flag Grouping

Charger22

Well this is my first time creating a post so hopefully the photos and all upload okay but in any case here it goes

Several months ago I picked up a grouping with a Japanese Flag, small banner, letters and a few small items in an antique store. The flag had a few condition issues and was pretty plain but it did have the capture document with it so I went ahead and picked it up. Well I had a little time this weekend so finally got around to putting it in a frame (will probably get it professionally framed someday) and getting all the paperwork arranged and let me say it turned out to be a little more interesting that I originally thought. To start with the flag The veteran who brought it back was a member of Battery A, 225th Field Artillery Battalion (part of XXIV Corps Artillery) and after reading his VMAIL letter to his mom (text below) it appears he picked the flag up during the Mariana Islands campaign at Tinian or his time on Saipan.

CPL LAWRENCE MELLETT 35128128

BTRY A 225 FA APO 969

% PM SAN FRANCISCO, CALIF

AUG, 30, 1944

To:

Mrs. C.P. MELLETT

1811 MAPLE AVE

NORWOOD (12) OHIO

Passed by US Army Examiner 03320

V- MAIL LETTER:

Tinian, Mariana (Islands)

Dear Mom,

The last time I wrote Norma I was on a boat heading for the Mariana Islands. Since then I have taken part in the battles of Saipan and Tinian. Naturally I am happy to be able to tell you I cam through without a scratch. Other than a Japanese Flag, some coins, ect. I have nothing to show for the past couple of months except experience which I hope will come in handy later.

I hope you don't feel too badly about me not writing more often (guess I'm lazy) Also hope you and pop are in the best of health.

Your prodigal son,

Larry

post-159692-0-82110300-1483923630.jpg

post-159692-0-18001800-1483923643.jpg

post-159692-0-11482100-1483923651.jpg