ww2 5th Air Force Officers Jacket

FightenIrish35

FightenIrish35

Greetings Everyone,

So I recently won this item on epay and all in all im very satisfied. I am confused on the things though,The Vanguard Wings and the owner of the jacket.

The Vanguard Wings seem to have some substance ive never seen before arond the posts on the back and Im not an expert on wings but I have my doubts. Maybe somebody can give their opinions on what they think as I dont know alot about wing marks and posts looking like this.

The other thing Im trying to figure out is who is C.N.RICE ... I have fiddled around with different names but just cant come up with anything. I tryed Charles,carl,etc etc...I am assuming he was a captain as the captain bars are Original. Mayve someone has a roster list or can help me out with information. Id greatly appreciate it.

Thanks guyys !! thumbsup.gif

post-3581-1223141501.jpg

post-3581-1223141508.jpg

post-3581-1223141526.jpg

FightenIrish35

I actually just realized that he has an ETO ribbon with a badge??? Hows that possible the 5th AirForce was the main airforce that fought japan,right?

FightenIrish35

I just found this on a french website...and it says a Charles N Rice crashe 7-31-45 on Le Shima...only thing is the group he was in wasnt under the 5th AirForce it was under the 12th I belive it read..... here it is

P-47N-1-RE 507th 464th

? Accidenté à l'atterrissage le 31/07/45 à Plum Field, Ie Shima (Iles Ryu-Kyu) - Pilote : Charles N. Rice

the plane tail number----44-88158

FightenIrish35

I also ran a search for the date JULY 31,1945 5TH AIR FORCE...and i came up with that the 5th air force moved to Ryukus Islands that date which was the day he was shot down. So maybe he was in the 5th Air Force somehow?

FightenIrish35