WWI Trench club

Newdog98

Hello I am very new to using this forum and tried to find the most appropriate place to ask this question so im sorry if their is another category. I have found a ww1 trench club that I have no idea if it is real or fake. It comes from a reputable seller If you have any info or links or even another categorypost-158615-0-85359200-1473218351_thumb.jpgpost-158615-0-91452300-1473219036_thumb.jpgpost-158615-0-74905000-1473219062_thumb.jpgpost-158615-0-07715800-1473219053_thumb.jpg pleas let me know!

What you have here is a vintage "billy club" which could have been made for and used by any number of people/ entities. Many police forces carried these in the 19th and well into the 20th centuries. Billy clubs were also popular with truck drivers and others who might find themselves in unfamiliar territory and needing an edge. The difficulty you will have with the piece in question is determining that this was used in the trenches by an American soldier or marine. It is going to be one of those pieces that, without iron-clad provinance, will only be what is claimed to be if the buyer is willing to buy the story.

The club has a bit of age, and the tape repair looks like old tape, but the rest of the evaluation will be up to the buyer.

My two cents,

Allan

Agree with Alan

The friction tape looks old but not WW1 old to me.

The Trench clubs I have seen and handled were also longer.

Dont mean anything as Im sure there were as many variations as there were immaginations who made them.

world war I nerd

Newdog98,

WW I trench clubs, whether ordnance made and or improvised in the field are, in my opinion, extremely difficult to authenticate unless they are an exact match for a known specimen.