8th Marines, Wounded twice group

nchistory

Hey Guys, I generally don't collect post American Civil War, but being a US Marine Vet, I occasionally pick up something from the Corps past. Any thoughts on this p-41 HBT, and M-43 field jacket that is reported to have been identified to Lt. Forrest D. Bailey of the 8th Marines. All thoughts are greatly appreciated by this Rookie USMC collector...

This group was original sold at a Militaria Auction, and was split up. I piced up two items......

Some on Bailey.. Forrest Dale Bailey born June 14, 1921. Joining the Iowa National Guard at the age of 17 while the winds of war were raging in Europe and the Pacific he served from July 1938 through June of 1940 before his enlistment into the Marines.

Upon hearing of the attack at Pearl Harbor and wanting to give the enemy at taste of their own medicine, he pursued enlistment in the Army Air Corps only to be rejected for his failure on the required vocabulary test. Writing a letter to the editor of the Fort Dodge Messenger he asked, Are we going to fight this war with words or bullets! Undeterred he bought a crossword puzzle dictionary, a newspaper and joined the Marines. Till the day he died he never forgave the Army and worked a crossword puzzle everyday.

Moved to active duty in May 1942 he trained at Camp Pendleton, California and was one of the first promoted to Corporal in the 2nd Battalion, 8th Regiment of the 2nd Marine Division. The days of pheasant and squirrel hunting in the fields of Iowa paid off handsomely as he earned his Marksmen, Sharpshooter and Expert medals with the M1 rifle. Soon enough he shipped to New Zealand to train for the island hopping campaign that was the Pacific Theatre, his first battle was Tarawa in November 1943.