• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 HBT

HBT
  • Members
    • Member ID: 235
  • 414 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 08:43 PM

I have a Bombardier group that included the vet's laminated Caterpillar Club card. I researched the bomb runs he participated on and was not able to find records of aircraft he was on going down.

Is there a way I could research how and when this vet became a member of the Caterpillar Club, or this is a needle in a haystack?

Thanks.

---Chris

Attached Images

• Wickander.jpg

#2 HBT

HBT
  • Members
  • 414 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 08:44 PM

Here are his bomb runs.

Attached Images

• Wickander2.jpg

#3 DwightPruitt

DwightPruitt
  • Members
    • Member ID: 251
  • 440 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 09:51 PM

Wow, 12-24-44 Kirch-Gons, Germany. I was stationed there in the late 70's.

#4 KASTAUFFER

KASTAUFFER

• Moderators
    • Member ID: 105
  • 12,332 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 10:03 PM

Your best bet is to try and get a copy of an " Aircraft Accident Report" if it exists for him.

These guys can help :

http://www.aviationa...src/reports.htm

Kurt

#5 ehrentitle

ehrentitle
  • Members
    • Member ID: 146
  • 2,554 posts

Posted 17 July 2008 - 09:11 AM

These Caterpiller Club cards and pins were issued by the companies that made parachutes upon application from the individual who used them in an emergency situation. Many like Irving, who issued this card, still exist and probably have the information in their archives. Irving is now Irving Aerospace and their website is:
http://www.irvinaero...om/aboutus.html

When I was researching parachute riggers several years back I contacted the Switlik Parachute Company for some information. The owner wrote me back and indicated that they still had all of the original files with correspondence on their Caterpiller Club. As it happened former president George H. W. Bush used a Switlik parachute when he bailed out in WWII and they still had all of his application info on file.