William Link WW1 Style Pilot Wing

irish

Picked this wing up today. It was mixed in with jewelry at a small antique shop. Looked OK to me but I have very little knowledge in this area. Measures right at 2 1/2" tip to tip on the wings. Interested in opinions and information. Thanks in advance. Will post reverse on next post below.

post-758-0-07939100-1408576067.jpg

A beautiful Wm. Link Company example. (See how the manufacturer included a chain Link in their hallmark).

Picked this wing up today. It was mixed in with jewelry at a small antique shop. Looked OK to me but I have very little knowledge in this area. Measures right at 2 1/2" tip to tip on the wings. Interested in opinions and information. Thanks in advance. Will post reverse on next post below.

I feel that these are a lost wax cast copy of the WC Link wings. I say that for a couple reasons. First if you look close at the US it has a gold overlay over a US that was part of the shield. On original WW1 wings the shield was not struck with a US but rather the gold US was applied separately. Second if you look close at the front you can see several small beads of silver in the feathering on the wings. This is a dead give away for a cast copy. And third if you look at the back you can see pitting. The WC Link wings were die struck and would not have these flaws in the silver.

It is a nice filler until an original comes along.

Terry

Thanks for everyone's opinions on this wing so far. I got a loop out and looked at the US letters and they sure look to me to be applied. There are areas around where I can see under them. It has a locking type roller catch that is not wanting to move at the moment.

I think they are right as rain. :)

The Tiffany style catch and hallmark are spot on for originals. I think you just have some wear and tear on the wing.