• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Peace

Peace
  • Members
    • Member ID: 132
  • 767 posts

Posted 16 May 2008 - 11:26 AM

Here is one of my projects I have been working on for several years. A Springfield M-1 garand found in the Sankt Vith region, just a few years ago. This weapon was found in a field, together with a B.A.R., a friend owns that one now.

When found, the weapon was far from complete. The obvious was missing (stock & wood), as was the bolt, trigger guard, etc. rear sight had some very rotten parts, as did the front sight.

As luck would have it, I was able to get virtually all the parts needed to complete the M-1 using donor parts from yet another M-1, also found in Sankt Vith. This one was a Winchester. I decided to make one complete rifle using these parts.

The only thing I still needed was woodwork, and a donor tube from an obsolete OP rod.

The rust on the weapon was removed by electrolysis, cleaned up by wire brush, and then lightly oiled. I used a beaten DAS stock and parts for furniture.

militaria_160.jpg

#2 Peace

Peace
  • Members
  • 767 posts

Posted 16 May 2008 - 11:30 AM

The goal was to make the rifle cycle again, and get all parts moving again. I should state that this weapon has been demilitarised.

The rear sight is fully functional, for the most part it is Winchester.

militaria_164.jpg

#3 Peace

Peace
  • Members
  • 767 posts

Posted 16 May 2008 - 11:33 AM

The trigger guard;

This one needed a little work where the trigger seats in the frame. At that spot it was too rusted. I built up some welding material, and then ground it down to make it useable.

This complete trigger guard is Winchester. Remarkably, I was able to even save the spring in it. All springs in the rifle were salvagable, the OP rod spring is a little weak though.

militaria_165.jpg

#4 Peace

Peace
  • Members
  • 767 posts

Posted 16 May 2008 - 11:37 AM

Gas tube & front sight;

militaria_166.jpg