My Storage/ Catalog Technique

Haditha07USMCR

Haditha07USMCR

I am fortunate enough to have an excessive amount of space for my collection and this is currently my storage closet. I am sure many of you already use the muslin "suit" bags with padded hangers for storage but just wanted to share in case others aren't aware of them. I also use archival boxes for some of my more fragile pieces, which you can see on the top shelf. If you are OCD about preservation both of these storage ways are great, especially when coupled with other pest control systems, and may help you sleep a little more soundly at night.

I also utilize a tag system on the bags, each having an individual accession number which helps me easily ID the contents of each bag. I constructed a digital database system/ hard copy folder system for each piece, which is also referenced via the accession number.

I am by no means an expert with any of this stuff but have been fortunate enough to have worked/ currently work in a museum and archive setting. If anyone has any questions about the methods I use please ask, I am glad to help.

post-24380-0-39926600-1380937546.jpg

That's the way we do it in the museum I am employed at. And as you mentioned, archival quality boxes are the way to go. They cost a bit more than your average cardboard box but what you put in them will most likely have a great deal of historical or monetary value. And don't forget neutral PH sleeves for your photos and paper items...and keeping them out of sunlight as much as possible. When we do displays of historical paperwork, a dirty little secret we have is that we get color photo copies of the paperwork and display them as opposed to displaying the original. The public usually doesn't know the difference and they display quite well.

Haditha07USMCR