Need help identifying EGA

MurfreesboroMemphis

MurfreesboroMemphis

So this EGA is going on Ebay right now. Its labeled as a 1920 model and is very similar in appearance to a pair I have on a 1922 dated set of Blues. My question is, is this correct? I've been comparing pictures of this EGA to other under the reference sections and I feel like there are a lot of differences between this EGA and those posted in the M 1920 section. For one, the wings look more narrow than many of the ones pictured. Also, it doesn't appear to have the finer lines between the lines of latitude that the 1920 examples seem to all have, and lastly, the head of the eagle appears different to me. I am no expert on EGAs and I don't collect them directly but I do collect Marine uniforms and these early EGAs continuously have me confused. I feel like I've seen many different examples of a "model 1920" and don't really understand how to identify any of these 1920's era devices well. Were there a plethora of manufacturers making what was supposed to be a single design that was corrupted or altered by each? Any insight into this would be greatly appreciated as I've really been confused about this topic for a while. Thanks.

Semper Fi,

-Will

post-19889-0-02080800-1376883835.jpg

That is absolutely a correct M1920-1930 model EGA, as issued. I believe the other EGA you were referring to would be the Meyer style (pictured here) that would have been a private purchase, but also correct for the period. Any input from other members would be appreciated.

post-8602-0-96808300-1376886368.jpg

MurfreesboroMemphis

Thanks for the info. You are correct. That is the style I was referring to. So the EGA I posted would have been an issued item and the Meyer ones above were private purchase only? Am I also correct in that there was at least on other design used during that time, the Gaunt EGA? Thanks for the help. I'm just trying to get this all nailed down in my head.

Semper Fi,

-Will

Haditha07USMCR