brandon_rss18 finds

brandon_rss18

brandon_rss18

Finally found some thing that I think were worth buying. First I found a belt with canteen on it. Took the canteen out and it is dated 1942, the pot it sits in under the canteen in the pouch says 1945 so i dont think they go together. Then I found a really cool little 15th Air Force sweetheart pin, or I think it is. Last I found this combat knife. I need some help with this one as I am not an expert on bladed weapons. The base of the blade says U.S. CAMILLUS N.Y., and has the leather handle, also have the scabbard. Any info on the things I found today would really be appreciated.

post-2378-1206236281.jpg

post-2378-1206236291.jpg

post-2378-1206236300.jpg

post-2378-1206236306.jpg

post-2378-1206236315.jpg

usncollector

The knife is a WWII era MK2 knife, most commonly associated with the naval branches. The leather scabbards are getting more difficult to acquire in good shape, as yours is. A very nice find!

brandon_rss18

thats cool, im excited, we had to drive out of town to go to small town antique stores to find these items, but it seems it was worth it, this is the first time I have ever "found" anything, I have to go back

Actually the knife marked US over CAMILLUS NY on the blade is a later version, made between the mid 1960s and the mid 1970s. After then the marking was changed to just US over CAMILLUS without the NY.

The WW2 versions made either for the Marines or the Navy would be marked either USMC or USN / MARK 2 with CAMILLUS NY on the other side of the blade.

brandon_rss18

thanks gary, kinda hurts as i only collect ww2 items, would you still consider it a good find? I know nothing of Vietnam era militaria