American Pickelhaube Helmet-1890s?

My name is Leonard Lanier. I am an intern at a small state museum in northeastern North Carolina. Part of my internship involves cataloging the militaria items in the museum's collection. Some things have the staff and I stumped, however. For instance, in 1969 the Pasquotank Historical Society gave the museum this helmet. Unfortunately, they did not provide us with any information about the owner or user. I think it's a US Army pickelhaube from the 1890s, but I'm not certain. It's clearly marked "Pettibone Mfg Co., Cincinnati, O" and has a "March 1, 1892" date embossed inside. Any help with this matter is greatly appreciated. Thank You.

post-96808-1343048514.jpg

post-96808-1343048522.jpg

post-96808-1343048530.jpg

post-96808-1343048537.jpg

Here's an additional image of the date inside the liner that I could not fit into the original post.

post-96808-1343048836.jpg

Here's an additional image of the date inside the liner that I could not fit into the original post.

US Army Dress Helmet, model of 1881 (not a "pickelhaube," it's not a German item). Your images are small, but it looks like a foot officer's helmet for the 1st Infantry Regiment. This type of dress helmet was worn by the Regular Army until about 1902.

Here's a larger image. I also thought 1st Infantry at first, but was not sure.

The crossed rifles behind the shield mean Infantry.

Hi Leonard,

Welcome to the forum!

Seems you have gotten the answer to your question already. There is help here of all different kinds.

Please join in.

Not knowing anything about these helmets, I'll ask: What makes this an officer's helmet vice an enlisted man's?

Not knowing anything about these helmets, I'll ask: What makes this an officer's helmet vice an enlisted man's?