Why are real USN helmets difficult to find?

Salvage Sailor

Salvage Sailor

Aloha Everyone,

I've been reading the posts on the board in regard to USN helmets and thought I'd share my own unsolicited opinions on a few questions. There are several posts asking "is this a real USN helmet", or "is this the right liner, suspension, grey/red/blue/yellow paint color," blah blah blah. Well, I'm not an expert on helmets at all, but I do know something about USN helmets, because I wore them and maintained them on several USN ships.

First off, I'm not even going to delve into what's a WWII, Korean, Vietnam era M1 helmet at all. If it was in the ready racks, it was a USN.

1102441372_HighLine.jpeg.1bbe8017758ecbc389589eaa539844aa.jpeg

Paint? Whatever was in the paint locker at the time. Haze grey, deck grey, fire engine red (all with lead btw) - that's what we used. Multiple coats sloshed on by hand. We also did not keep them painted and shined up all the time. This was only done after coming out of a ROH (regular overhaul) before our INSERV inspections or REFTRA (Refresher training) drills. Even then, it was only the CO/XO/NAV etc helmets that were worn on the bridge that got gussied up. These officers usually kept their nice & clean helmets in their staterooms. We swabbies just grabbed whatever was on the racks when GQ sounded.

Now, about those racks.....they were open to the sea, rain, GU-11 bombers, and whatever else was flying about. They were about as clean as the Mae-West and orange Kapok life preservers in the lifejacket boxes next to the racks (but that's a topic for another thread). The racks were either stack-em-up types or lockers (think dumpster with no wheels or lid, just a triced down tarp).

1972764951_BolsterHelmetRackSignalBridge.jpg.87da43ab863621a0680d79303ab0bcfd.jpg