1944 USN Rain Parka

hirsca

Picked this up last week at an estate sale. Nothing special, but the NXsx contract number ID's it to February 1944. Now, I was a Navy Officer and stood topside watches a JOOD and then OOD, but what the heck is EODTC? Thanks, Al Hirschler in Dallas.

post-12790-1328546869.jpg

Picked this up last week at an estate sale. Nothing special, but the NXsx contract number ID's it to February 1944. Now, I was a Navy Officer and stood topside watches a JOOD and then OOD, but what the heck is EODTC? Thanks, Al Hirschler in Dallas.

post-12790-1328546944.jpg

VirtualMariner

EOD Training Center? An educated guess, at best, but could be. I've never seen that designation, either. I suspect the "OD" part is not related to "Officer of the Deck", though.

You find a couple of uses that fit including Training Center and Training Complex, but the most likely one here is the The Naval Explosive Ordnance Disposal Technical Center, that was established in 1951 at the Stump Neck Annex.

Thanks to both of you for the info. It's no surprise they were still issuing WW2 gear then, and for many years after that. Thanks again, Al.

Thanks to both of you for the info. It's no surprise they were still issuing WW2 gear then, and for many years after that. Thanks again, Al.

Nice find Al.

I agree they were used for years.I have even seen them into the Viet nam era along with the bib trousers

RD

Nice find Al.

I agree they were used for years.I have even seen them into the Viet nam era along with the bib trousers

RD

Somewhere I have a photo of me wearing the whole set in the mid '70s on USS Bradley, FF-1041. The Navy never threw anything away as long as it was serviceable. it remained in use. I had a Girl Friend who was assigned to a E-2 squadron and was issued one of the M-41 looking jackets.

Steve Hesson